CYBL Officiating Information

Written Exam for High School Officials

SAMPLE QUESTIONS:

Terms used in questions:
Teams: 2 teams per game, "A" and "B"
Players: "A-1" is Player #1 on Team A, etc.

1. Following a score by team B, A-1’s throw-in pass is deflected out of bounds over the endline. Official awards the ball back to team A and rules team A may run the endline.

Is the official correct? YES or NO

2. A-1, while flat on his/her stomach and holding the ball, gets up to both knees. Official rules this a legal play.

Is the official correct? YES or NO

3. Airborne shooter’s try lodges between the rim and backboard. Official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play.

Is the official correct? YES or NO

4. Official notices that A-1 has a wound that is bleeding. Official stops the game and directs A-1 to the bench. Coach of team A requests a 60-second timeout which is granted. Following the timeout, A-1 comes back onto the court ready to play having covered and cleaned the cut. Official allows A-1 to re-enter.

Is the official correct? YES or NO

5. A-1 receives a pass while straddling the half court division line. A-1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt. A-1 then changes direction moving both feet into the backcourt, along with the ball. Official rules this play legal.

Is the official correct? YES or NO

6. A-1, clearly behind the three point line, attemps a shot and is fouled. The basket is not good. Referee allows A-1 2 free throws.

Is the referee correct? YES or NO

7. Is it correct that an intentional foul must be considered on the severity of the foul?

YES or NO

8. The ball is considered out of bounds when it touches the ceiling or overhead equipment.

YES or NO

9. It is the duty of the official to wait until both teams are ready to play before the official hands the ball to the player throwing it inbounds?

YES or NO

10. The ball is out of bounds if it passes over the corner of a rectangular backboard?
YES or NO


Answers:

1. No (the ball is put in play as a result of the out of bounds, not the scored basket)
2. No (this is a travel)
3. Yes (rule states possession goes by the arrow)
4. Yes (because the coach requested the time out, if the coach chose not to use a time out then the coach would have to put in a sub)
5. Yes (the ball, and both the player’s feet must be in the frontcourt at the same time in order for the player to be considered in the frontcourt. The player was still considered to be in the backcourt)
6. No (the player would be awarded 3 free throws)
7. No (that is a flagrant foul, an intentional foul is based on what the player was trying to do and if they made an attempt at the getting the ball)
8. Yes
9. No (if a team is taking their time getting out onto the court and the official thinks he has provided ample time to get ready, he or she may put the ball in play when he is ready)
10. Yes (the ball cannot be shot or passed over the backboard)